Longing of Hearts

Most Sacred Heart,
Your Spirit moves me
Stirring my soul to long for You.
My longing meets Yours
In a collision of hearts
Seeking one another
And in seeking, finding.
And in finding, desiring more!
Desiring a union so complete
There is no chance
Of losing one another ever again
For even an instant.

O Lord,
I hear You calling
From Your Cross.
My heart beats to Yours
As I hear the sounds of Calvary:
The sounds of Your breath,
Laboring for Love,
The sounds of their insults,
The sounds of Your silent moans,
The sounds of Your longing and searching,
The sighs of Your Sacred Heart.
Dear Jesus, I wonder,
If in Your human Heart, yet Divine,
When You called out to Your Father:
“Why have You forsaken Me?”
Did You long for a moment
For a human voice to answer:
“I am here.
I will not leave You.
You are all to me,
All I desire.
I will never leave You.”

In Your human Heart,
Could You understand
The longings and desires of ours?
Can You understand and love
The human desires
Of this heart and soul
In which You have divinely stirred
Such longings for You”

1-14-2001

Leave a Reply

