Solitary Path

My Savior,
It was You who called me
To the crossroads.
Blinded with pain,
The fog of confusion surrounded me,
Yet I knew where I was.

I knew where You wanted me,
Though it cut through my heart
Like a knife.
I knew I could not turn away from You
Or what You were calling me to.

There at the crossroads,
The fresh pain of betrayal,
The emptiness of abandonment
Were upon me,
Yet my heart knew its anchor
And that it could not turn from You
And betray and abandon You.

The choice was clear and complete.
I would walk with You, my Savior,
Away from the crowd
Along the solitary path
Where You and I abide,
Silently speaking,
Touchlessly touching.

I walk the path of solitude
That sometimes crushes me,
Yet sometimes leads me
Into Your embrace.
You pick up the pieces
Of my shredded heart
Again and again.
You know so well
How to suffer alone.

Suffering Heart,
I cannot stop this pain of isolation
That cuts so deeply into my heart.
Yet I cannot stop the love
That brought me here
Through the crossroads.

Teach me, my Lord,
How to endure this exile.
Teach me the silent surrender
Of Your Suffering Heart.
As the solitary path
Carves its canyons into my soul
Where at times only my voice
Seems to echo back,
Whisper Your Presence in the wind
That reminds me of the Sacred Heart
That drew me here,
Away from all others,
Emptied and waiting
For You, O Sacred Heart,
The Heart I walk this path to meet
And embrace.

7/17-19/2001

Leave a Reply

