Tender Wounds

O Heart of Mercy
That captures my soul,
Break open my heart
Sending Your Spirit
Like shivering Fire
Into my soul.

O Wounded Lord,
Your Wounds melt my soul.
They pierce my heart,
Then carry it off into You.
My heart melts down
In the presence of
Your sweetest Wounds
And Your overwhelming desire
For my heart.

The tender strength
Of Your hand upon mine
Touched all that I am.
I gaze upon the deep cavern,
Baring bones, ripping flesh,
That marks where my weakness,
My failures, pierced the hand
Of my precious Beloved Lord.

Love beyond grasp of mind,
Sacrifice firing the furnace
That consumes all;
Tremor of Love that
Shakes my soul.
Heart pressing against heart
Imprints forever
Your Sacrifice of Love
Upon all that I am.

My heart opens to,
My soul embraces
The overcoming Love
Of my Savior.
Softness of Love
Beyond comprehension
Transforms a tortured Body
Into a soft, tender holocaust of Love
On the altar of our hearts.

Your precious Wounds
Press against my soul.
My heart overflows with adoration
As I bend to kiss
The wounded feet of my Master.

Every tender Wound on Your Suffering Body
Churns my heart in its grasp of Love.
My heart a fountain of tender devotion
Longs to love with all I am
The tender, sweet Savior
Whose Heart pours forth in unearthly Love
And so silently, lovingly, sweetly accepts
Each piercing Wound
As if it were the kiss of Love.
So perfect this Savior’s Sacrifice,
His soft surrender in Love
Is seen as weakness
By those who fail to understand
The Love of the Beloved,
The Precious Life in death.

6/6-7/2001

Leave a Reply

